Our network

Cobb County honored as 'Camera Ready Community' | Arts & Culture

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Cobb County honored as 'Camera Ready Community'
Cobb County honored as 'Camera Ready Community'

ATLANTA -- Cobb is one of 73 Georgia counties to be named a "Camera Ready Community" by Governor Nathan Deal.

The counties will be honored in a ceremony at 10 a.m. on Monday, Mar. 21 at the Georgia State Capitol. They join the 16 others that earned the distinction in October 2010.

In addition to Governor Deal, other attendees include Ben Hinson, board chair of the Georgia Department of Economic Development; Tom Luse, a producer for "The Walking Dead" and Remember the Titans; and Camera Ready liaisons from across the state.

A program of Georgia's Film, Music & Digital Entertainment Office, Camera Ready communities have programs that provide film and television production companies with easier, faster and better access to local resources and location information.

Each community also has a liaison who can assist production companies on a local level.

More than 335 productions were shot in Georgia in 2010, ranking the state number one in the Southeast and among the top five in the nation for film and television productions. This brought more than $759.3 million in investment to Georgia, representing $1.4 billion in economic impact to the state.

Marietta Deals